Skip to content

Blog #1 and Extra-Credit Quiz

August 24, 2012
by

Congratulations on getting through the first week of the semester! If you’ve found this blog page, then you’ve successfully navigated another path to course resources in MMC 2604. It gets easier after this.

This weekend, your recitation preceptor — Tom Hanson, Jennifer Reed, or Mary Wozniak — will post the assignment for your first blog comment of the semester on the site for “Your Blogs.” The topic, generally, is “what are your sources?” We want to know what you think about the news and where to find it since learning where to find and how to share reliable, actionable information is the objective of this course. Your preceptor will ask the specific question, so your comment will be a reply to her or him. Any question about how to do this, please email me at rkenney@fgcu.edu.

Don’t forget to take the Extra-Credit Quiz on your ANGEL recitation CRN before midnight. The questions relate to the news we discussed during Thursdays’s lecture (the relevant PowerPoint slides have been posted to ANGEL) and the five news tweets I showed you by way of example (see the top of Twitter feed on the righhand side of this page). An early quiz-taker kindly pointed out some flaws in the quiz, and the offending answers have been corrected to reflect that. ANGEL doesn’t allow me to correct the wording of questions, though, so the “Rick Walker” answer on Question 5, which was meant to be “Scott Walker,” is incorrect, but correct. In other words, you get a free pass on Question 5 because of my intractable error. As for why I typed “Rick Walker,” I plead a flashback to the days (before you were even born) when I followed Redskins football. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it. Good luck on the quiz!

The points you earn will apply to your quiz-points total for the semester.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandon Kirsch permalink
    August 26, 2012 1:12 pm

    Dear Mr.Kenney,
    I have looked all over for the quiz yesterday and this morning and can not find it. I must have misunderstood, I was under the impression quiz’s were made available from Friday to Sunday midnight. If you can either confirm or deny that notion it would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you,
    Brandon Kirsch

    • rkenney permalink
      August 27, 2012 8:21 pm

      It was on ANGEL, as billed.

  2. January 22, 2013 1:33 pm

    Dear Dr. Kenny,

    I have subscribed to my recitation leader’s blog, but still have not gotten a repy as to whether I have been accepted or not into the private blog. I’ve done this twice now. My recitation leader is Jennifer Reed, our class was cut short due to the fire drill. I don’t know if that has anything to do with it. I’m assuming not. Also I am beyond confused onto where we are suppose to leave our comments and blogs for our Blog assignments. I have subscribed to your blog and have already set up an account with WordPress. I just don’t know if you want us to blog using our account or just comment? I have also sent you an email.

    Thanks
    Kaitlyn Baney

Leave a Reply

