Skip to content

What are your sources?

June 29, 2012
by

For this week’s blog comment, which is due in reply here (click “Leave a comment” below) by 7 p.m. Wednesday, July 3, write a concise response to the headline above. Tell us where you go, among news media outlets, for reliable, actionable information. There’s no right or wrong answer, and you needn’t try to please your professor by parroting “Democracy Now!” What we want to know is: Whom do you trust and why? Your comment could be much shorter than 150 words, as long as you give us the “who” and the “why.” We’ll discuss your ideas and explore some uncommon (if reliable) sites in class Thursday.

85 Comments leave one →
  1. Casey Brogan permalink
    June 30, 2012 4:30 am

    The number one show I trust for my news updates is, “The Daily Show”. I find that the only way that I can focus on current events is through comedy. I trust Jon Stewart because he speaks with such confidence and after watching his appearance on crossfire I learned that he has a talent for detecting BS. My favorite website for news updates is reddit because its mostly used by a younger audience who post articles on subjects that people my age are interested in. I’m not always sure if I can trust reddit, but I can get a feel for whether or not the the truth is being told judging by the up to down vote ratio.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 4, 2012 5:11 pm

      I knew Daily Show would appear on several comments. Surveys of younger news consumers show they’re going to multiple sites, and this ranks high.

  2. Bob Reinhard permalink
    July 1, 2012 1:32 am

    My answer is simple, a grain of salt. I trust local news because I know many of the local anchors and people. I trust my own skepticism. If the internet websites like Facebook, Google and Yahoo say that Obama jumped off a bridge, I will be very careful whether to believe it until I can examine the facts. In the eighties, a movie with Matthew Broderick entitled War Games asked, “stop believing what you see but instead ask yourself ‘does it make any sense’?”. In the film the computer was trying to start WWIII. The only solution was to doubt the facts in front of your eyes and ask if it makes any sense.

    For news I listen to local media and internet news sources, but I don’t trust what they tell me. I trust that which I can verify.

    • Bob Reinhard permalink
      July 4, 2012 10:21 am

      As an addendum, since starting this course, I spend four or five hours a week driving from my home to campus and back. Professor Kenney suggested NPR. I used to listen the religious programming. I now listen to NPR almost exclusively.

      • rkenney permalink
        July 5, 2012 1:46 am

        Wise words, Bob. Sometimes, our willingness to believe wild reports, like lemmings off a cliff, is disappointing. What’s also disturbing is when the news seems to be believable only because the lemming we’re following is one we’ve trusted many times before, but who blew it this time by not doing the job we expect. To further mix the metaphor: when the journalist didn’t open the freezer. I wish everyone would give NPR a try. Incredible diversity of news.

  3. Michael Mora permalink
    July 1, 2012 6:55 pm

    My favorite sources for information are the Newyorker.com and tnr.com. While their content isn’t as rapid as say, the wall street journal, I particularly enjoy their literary style and randomness in article choice. Each site has a reputation for truthfulness- ignoring the Stephen Fray incident with the New Republic- which is very important if I choose to be influenced by their writers daily.
    For articles for school related assignments, I attempt to browse reports and analyst by scientist or government agencies. Snoop Dogg, in Starchy and Hutch said, “Why start at the finish line when you can go straight to the finish?” Like Mr. Dogg, I would rather formulate my own opinion on subjects that I’m writing on, closest to the original source of information as possible, rather than insert an opinion that would be watered down from several other sources. For these, I start at Google scholar. Unfortunately, a lot of these academic sites hosting studies are paid for so, I don’t really have a “go-to site” for this criteria.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 4, 2012 5:13 pm

      NYer and TNR are definitely MSM, but uncommonly cited here. As for Google scholar, your FGCU library ID might get you access through many of those paywalls. Check!

  4. July 2, 2012 7:05 pm

    I really do not look up much information when it comes to news. But when I do, I always go to the fox 4 in your corner! It is always such a catchy phrase knowing that someone is in my corner watching out for me. Patrick Nolan is who I find the most interesting- he is just a natural born newscaster. This Fox 4 website is always up to date on the latest stories happening around my area. They even have a facebook page for the continuous facebook user. Ultimately, if i want to find out” normal” news media this is where I would go.

    On the other hand, I am always looking up arrest records. I am not much of an all around news person. My main interest is Criminal Justice. This really isn’t news media that is announced, but I am religiously on the Charlotte County Sheriff’s Offices’ website and facebook page. On their site, they inform us about newly arrested people and their charges, missing persons report, and events that the Sheriff’s department is putting on. Bob Carpenter, a PIO from CCSO is the one who is always updating the county’s reports. I even like it so much I’m going to share it with you… https://www.facebook.com/CCSOFLSheriff This is an awesome media source to the people who are interested in any kind Criminal Justice stories/reports, which is ultimately my source if I want to look up information.

  5. Conner Galvin permalink
    July 2, 2012 9:04 pm

    I do not watch any television to get my reliable news because I find most of the networks to be extremely biased for one particular political party. Instead, I use online news sites. The site I use the most is called drudgereport.com. This site pulls articles from new websites all across the globe. IIt has the headline of an article on the web page it takes you to the hosting site of that particular article. I relie on this website because I believe their news eliminates much of the political bias and agendas that come with news. I like to use this website to get information from all different spectrums, so that I can formulate my own opinion on the subject.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 4, 2012 5:19 pm

      One of the original power bloggers. Today, Drudge posted a headline link, “Still Standing,” beneath an image of the Statue of Liberty, but it might speak for his blog, too. Everyone should check out the AP essay, “In divided era, what does July 4th mean?” that I found behind that link at http://apnews.myway.com/article/20120704/D9VQ44301.html

  6. Amanda Moore permalink
    July 3, 2012 9:30 am

    In my opinion, newspapers are still the most trusted source. Internet and television media sources seem to be losing a lot of credibility as they only race to be the first to announce breaking news. Being born and raised in Indiana, and coming to FGCU for college, I don’t know any of the local newspapers. Therefore, I still keep up with my hometown newspaper “The Tribune”. I read it everyday to see what I am missing out on. “The Tribune” is very well thought of and, most importantly, it is reliable. As for world news, I trust the New York Times, but to say I keep up with it everyday would be untrue; however, if they come out with breaking news I now would be more likely to trust them rather than CNN. When it comes to the internet, my home page is yahoo.com. Several stories pop up and i click on them for sheer entertainment, definitely not a trusted news source.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 4, 2012 5:23 pm

      The Seymour Tribune: great example of “hyperlocal” news. My favorite story today is about a fireworks ban that goes into effect at midnight tonight! What a great compromise. Wish my neighbors would consider this. Like DrudgeReport, Yahoo and Google aggregate huge volumes of news and can be good at curating the world for you, depending on the world you want to know.

  7. Adam permalink
    July 3, 2012 1:01 pm

    The news I trust comes from online sources such as Yahoo! news and St. Pete times for local news. I trust them because Yahoo! takes its time to build a story and they give random, yet interesting stories to read. Also, the St. Pete times, where I come from, gives us some good local stories and they know more about what is going on locally. To be honest, I don’t trust a lot of what is on TV because every news channel has something different than what a different channel said. That’s politics for ya! I like the Colbert report and Jon Stewart because they give entertainment to stories. Even though the stories might be true, I take them as comedy more than news. I take a little information from everyone and build my own idea about what’s going on in the world. However, I do trust the Weather Channel to tell me that it will either be hot or rainy in Florida.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 4, 2012 5:26 pm

      When I had cable, Weather Channel was my default; I kept it on in the background since it was constantly updating the most important news (weather) I cared about. As for the TV networks, there is no doubt that there are political leanings to each, and some are more pronounced than others. This is less so at the local level. But none anywhere are left of center. Most are politically right or far right of center overall.

  8. Dan Surgan permalink
    July 3, 2012 1:59 pm

    I was a journalism major early in my college career, but years ago lost the passion as I found how corporate media manipulates their audience. I avoid MsNBC, Fox, and their affiliates like the plague, and have gone to BBC and Aljazeera for more objective international news, but have I have not found any consistent source for domestic information. I have always loved how the Daily Show and the Colbert Report expose media trends and follies in ethics but it has become clear over the years they should not be viewed as a main source for actionable info. Currently my favorite information hub is reddit.com. This is a great site for users to share information bits in links they find themselves in many topics; science, religion, and politics being my most visited subreddits. While user bias clearly leans liberally, it is fully up to the audience to judge for themselves the reliability of the source. I enjoy this as their is no pressure on me to assume truthfulness of any link, and the higher users news literacy becomes, the more useful the site becomes to its users.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 4, 2012 5:32 pm

      Reddit’s liberal tilt is due to the social-justice orientation of the vast majority of its users, which is manifest in philanthropies it sometimes initiates or which seem to originate there. What makes great sense, Dan, is your suggestion that users should judge for themselves the reliability of the information, rather than fall prey to the “confirmation bias” that drives far too many less-literate news consumers to sites where they know, the information will support their worldview.

  9. July 3, 2012 5:16 pm

    When it comes to a news media source that I trust I rather go for a newspaper than for TV news. I like to read New York Times because I find they support their news and get into detail with most of the stuff they report. I used to trust CNN a lot, I come from a spanish background and CNN seemed to be one of the most reliable news medias back home but after seeing how many times they have made mistakes at telling the news just for the sake of reporting it first than any other channel I rather go with the New York Times.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 4, 2012 5:34 pm

      Thursday, we’re going to look at truth, verification, and mechanisms for correcting errors. What we know, and continue to find, is that all news organizations make mistakes. What distinguishes some from others is their attitude toward errors and their approach to setting the record straight.

  10. Michael Coats permalink
    July 3, 2012 5:50 pm

    Besides links that are cited as sources for information that occur on pages I follow via Facebook and Twitter, I really don’t have a ‘go to’ site to use a source for general news. Quite frankly I don’t know a thing about journalistic research, that’s why I’m here in this class. If I catch wind of something that interests me, I’ll typically open a new window (or tab) in my web browser and Google search that particular topic to read up on (usually using the most recent posted article from the results that Google gives me because that must mean it’s new news). After about the first hour of this class, I quickly realized that practicing this method of “research” may or may not be the best formula and therefore causing the death of many kittens globally. Who knows. However, I do prefer Weather Underground over The Weather Channel because I feel they focus strictly on their weather updates online whereas The Weather Channel spreads themselves thin between presenting weather news over the web and television broadcasting.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 4, 2012 5:36 pm

      Nothing wrong with a Google search as long as it doesn’t become your sole source. Thursday, we’ll look at some examples of how Google searches can fail us. Good point about Weather Channel’s diluted programming. Same thing killed MTV for me long ago.

  11. Lindsay D permalink
    July 3, 2012 6:17 pm

    For trusted information, I like to stick to local outlets– local newspapers, broadcasts, and television. I find that if a reporter lives or is from the area in which they are reporting then they can more accurately depict a scene. I trust their views and feel a sense of community. However, when it comes to international news, it saddens me that I have a difficult time finding reliable and unbiased information. Like stated above, CNN, MBC, and Fox are not the perfect examples of unbiased news. I will now begin looking into BBC for more accurate accounts of news. Finally, for convenience and times sake, I like to follow organizations of my choosing on Twitter. Normally these quick reports are valid factual information.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 4, 2012 5:42 pm

      Amid the dramatic changes in journalism and the continual firing of experienced reporters and editors comes the loss of institutional knowledge of communities. Interesting kerfuffle over who’s really producing the local stories we read has followed the airing of an episode on “This American Life” last weekend, when it was revealed that a startup named Journatic is behind the highly unethical practice, embraced by some of the biggest media outlets in this country, of outsourcing local news — to the Philippines! Meanwhile, Twitter, used responsibly, is a great social media site for following news.

  12. Eusebio Moreno permalink
    July 3, 2012 6:58 pm

    When it comes to news, I like to be informed at the following three levels: local, national and international.
    For local news, I rely on The Naples Daily News and the local news stations: abc-7, fox 4, nbc-2, and wink news. For national news, I rely on CNN, NBC, ABC or CBS nightly news. For international news, I rely on Al Jazeera, Noticiero Univision, Noticiero TV Azteca, Noticiero Televisa, CNN en espanol, and as of lately Mosaic World News. I usually prefer to read The Naples Daily News, however, if I can’t get the paper or I don’t have time to read it, I also trust the news stations with informing me on what’s happening in my community, the nation and the world. I like them all the same; I believe they are all very professional and trustworthy. My decision on which channel to watch usually has to do with the time of day and the channel’s programming.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 4, 2012 5:43 pm

      Eusebio, you stole the punchline for the whole course, which is to seek a multitude of alternative sources for reliable, actionable information. Don’t stop!

  13. Andrew White permalink
    July 3, 2012 7:19 pm

    My most trusted source of news is the radio, WGCU-FM 90.1 to be specific. It’s a NPR member station that is owned by FGCU. The main reason I listen to it is because I find it to be an informative and unbiased source of news, plus since it’s a radio station I can listen to the news while driving. Which is pretty convenient for people like me who tend to drive frequently. My second most trusted source of news is probably the Daily Show. While less informative than WGCU it’s by far more entertaining. Also I don’t think it’s an exaggeration to say that the Daily Show is more reliable than other news sources like FOX, CNN, etc. However i generally consider it to be more entertainment than news, which is why i don’t rely only on it for information.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 4, 2012 5:47 pm

      NPR has outpaced every major news organization in striving to become the best. It’s not there yet, but it seems to understand the need for a diversity of news and sources, as well as the need to exploit all of the media platforms. It still doesn’t write or edit up to the standards of NYT or WSJ or LAT, but NPR has begun to do multimedia well. What’s nice about WGCU (and other NPR affiliates) is that it supplements public radio news programs such as Morning Edition and Weekend Edition and Marketplace with local news and thoughtful public affairs reporting that you don’t get anywhere else.

  14. Katie Meador permalink
    July 3, 2012 7:53 pm

    I hate to say it, but I do not really watch the news much on my own. When I was back at home in Salem, IL, I would read the town newspaper, the “Salem Times Commoner”, just to get informed on sports, obituaries, weather, and any upcoming events or popular political issues of the town. In addition, I would also listen to our local news radio station, WJBD. Any news outside of Salem, however, I usually ask my parents to share with me. I realize that the information my parents tell me has a tendency to be one sided. In fact, I notice that they will tell me what is going on and then tell me their opinion on the subject. When my parents do this, I find myself naturally tending toward taking on their ideas and opinions on the subject at hand. Yet, if I talk with someone else about the same subject and they give me their point of view, it will sometimes cause me to question my parent’s opinion. My parents get most of their news (and as a result, my news) from Channel 5 news, Fox, CNN and NBC on occasion. All of these resources are not as reliable as some people would believe and, now that I have been in MCC2604, I have noticed that they tend to leave out certain points in stories, so that the news can sway people to a certain side. Since my arrival here at FGCU, I have not yet found a news station or paper that I read currently. However, I plan to start picking up the “Eagle News.” I just have yet to get into the habit of doing so. It is important for a student to know what is going on in the school, community, and the world so that they can be prepared, and I need to gain my own perspective on current issues and events so that I am not blinded by one person’s point of view. I want to have my own thoughts and opinions and stick by them because I have the sources and facts about the subjects to be firm in my beliefs.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 4, 2012 5:51 pm

      Nothing wrong with your approach! What news we share, and how we share it, with others is an essential component of news literacy. One way or another, we’re all “getting our news” from a third party. I find general-interest news from a variety of sources, but I rely on a close circle of trusted curators to fill gaps for me. All of us can do a better job of being critical news consumers, and I have a long way to go. The key is to keep evolving and trying to discern carefully what’s good and whom to trust over time.

  15. Jessica Sotelo permalink
    July 3, 2012 9:40 pm

    Personally, I have not found a news source that I can fully trust yet, but on the other hand I have not done a lot of looking other than the local news channels avalible right on my T.V. screen. But I have found myself watching WINK news lately but when I do find an intresting story I usually go resarch it more on the computer by looking up articles. The one news outlet I really do enjoy watching and can trust most as of right now is the Colbert report and Jon Stewart but they consider themselves media cridicts more than news reporters. There is always two sides to every story but when there is a buch of different media outlets tring to get the best story on the same subject, things can either get misinterpreted, added, or just plain left out when making the news report for others to watch or read. I would like to find news sources that fouces more on foreign affairs that do impact us and getting the story from a different persective other than in a news room.

  16. Jessica Sotelo permalink
    July 3, 2012 10:14 pm

    Personally, I have not found a source that I can fully trust yet. However I do find myself watching the Colbert Report and the Daily show I like how they put a comic spin to it but they point out bias and details that get left out from news stories that othes channels air. But Colbert says that he is a media critic more than a news reporter. I do have to do more research into other media outlets other than the ones that show up while I am flipping throught the channels on my T.V. I want to know more about foregin affaris that effects us here and for people to see another side of the story other then the bias of the typical American view.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 4, 2012 5:56 pm

      Unless a person is blinded by confirmation bias, she or he would find that Stewart and Colbert are equal-opportunity critics. Yes, The Daily Show takes on Fox the most, but there’s good reason for that. And Colbert is mocking Bill O’Reilly but that’s because O’Reilly is a caricature easy to parody. The target of Colbert’s work is anyone’s attempt to bullshit us.

  17. Derek Maloney permalink
    July 4, 2012 12:02 am

    I like to use the pulse app on my kindle fire to get my news. I can tailor it so that it provides me with the news stories from only the news sources that I choose. I currently have twelve different news sources linked to my pulse app, but I would have to say the three that I trust and rely on the most are: BBC News, U.S. News and World Report, and the Wall Street Journal.
    I believe these three sources to be trustworthy and reliable sources for the news, and find that their stories are usually more reliable then major networks like CNN and Fox News. I used to be an avid watcher of Fox News, but after many disappointing experiences I began looking for other options. I have found through experience that the three news agencies I listed above are very reliable and trustworthy. I would definitely recommend the pulse app to anyone who loves staying current with the news.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 4, 2012 5:59 pm

      Pulse is invaluable. It’s maybe the simplest, most efficient way to customize a personal news digest. I’m not the most adept user of mobile devices, but even I can navigate Pulse and know what’s going on.

  18. Angela Navarro permalink
    July 4, 2012 10:03 am

    Before moving to Southwest Florida from New Jersey, I would regularly listen to 1010 wins news on the radio on my way to school. This news station was on my father’s car radio since I can remember. It provided us with mainly local news of the tri state area, it was quick, reliable, and always to the point.
    Since moving down here I mainly watch TV for my media news updates. Whether it’s the today show, ABC news, or at night our local channel 7 wink news; they each provide me with efficient amount of news to get along during the day. I prefer these forms of news as opposed to other networks because in my personal opinion the other stations seem to be bias; they try to direct the audience’s attention over to a certain side of an argument which I strongly disagree with. News has to be provided at a straight forward angle, people should be allowed to make judgments for themselves. This is why I watch the above media news the most.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 12:56 am

      I miss WINS! Used to listen to it every other weekend during the Eighties, when I traveled to NY. Some ’round-the-clock radio news stations elsewhere (WDBO in orlando comes to mind) are also very good. And they can be excellent proving grounds for interns who want to learn to report breaking news in a fast-paced environment.

  19. Kaitlyn Battistoni permalink
    July 4, 2012 10:52 am

    The newsource for reliable and actionable information is my local newspaper or if I’m boradening my horizon and want to find out more about political or worl news I either take a look at the Washington Post or the New York Times. I feel like reading the news is processed through my mind more thoroughly then does watching the news o the television. I trust the newspapers because the writers/journalists have good informative stories and sometimes very interesting breaking news that I like to read about. The newspaper is very reliable because thye are the oldest newsource around. You can get any information from the newspaper and it most likely will be true unlike news on the television or reading it on blogs, facebook, or twitter. All in all, in my opion the newspaper is the most reliable newsource right now.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 12:58 am

      Studies have long consistently shown that although most people report receiving news first from other sources, the extent of their knowledge is relative to whether they sought more information from a newspaper. The typical evening local news program contains as many words as a single front-page newspaper story.

  20. Vicki DeBow permalink
    July 4, 2012 11:07 am

    The number one news source that I use is ABC news. This news station has never steered me in the wrong direction, I find it very trustworthy. I have lived in three different states and always found ABC accurate. If something in the news interests me, I will go on to the Library databases to read additional articles. I find the databases to be scholarly articles and accurate. There are also different views that are seen in text here. Recently, the news tweets have been helpful. I like to follow the links on the news tweets to find out additional information or another view. I am not a biased person; therefore I like to hear all sides of every story. I rarely read the actual paper newspaper, I enjoy articles online better. Online articles do not leave residue on my hands or give me paper cuts. Since I am a very accident prone type of person, online newspapers are probably the best for me.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 1:00 am

      Good! Our hope is that all of you will consider multiple alternative sources, and that’s one reason why the news tweets drive you to sites you might not have considered. As a veteran ink-stained wretch of a journalist, I agree totally with your complaint about print!

  21. Laura Siebenmorgen permalink
    July 4, 2012 12:29 pm

    The most trusted source of information I rely on would have to (of course) be CNN. When i watched the towers come down on September 11, I was watching CNN. At such a young age, the channel where I watched one of the worst tragedies in American history happen, immediately seemed like the best source of information I could get. I have always been a news fanatic and it seems CNN has always had the latest breaking news the quickest. The reporters have passion and zest. CNN appeals to me on a level that Fox News or MSNBC has not. I also follow Al Jazeera and The Guardian. Al Jazeera and The Guardian allow me to read some similar stories from CNN, but from a completely different perspective. In order to rely on actionable information it is important to have different perspectives before concluding your own.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 1:03 am

      CNN really made its rep when it was the only 24-hour cable news channel at the outbreak of the first Persian Gulf war. It had an infrastructure — and reporters — in place to provide news all the time, whereas the major networks had to disrupt valuable programming and were loath to do so for long. CNN International is much more like some of the foreign sources you mention and often quite different from the CNN news we see domestically.

  22. Nate Hicks permalink
    July 4, 2012 1:00 pm

    Like many other college students I rely mostly on late night television monologues and talk show such as The Colbert Report and the Jimmy Kimmel Show to take in news I believe to be reliable and actionable. I choose to watch these programs because they provide vital information about current events of the world and deliver it in a style that is fun for me to watch. Another source I use is ESPN, both the television stations and website. I consider myself to be a bit of a “sports junkie” and to be totally truthful, a great deal of the news I consume is dealing with sports. I even the student newspaper, Eagle News to see what is going on around campus.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 1:05 am

      Most people probably consider ESPN the top source for sports news, and its forays into major sports markets is threatening local newspapers and TV news operations there. It faces serious competition on the horizon, but ESPN is still growing in influence.

  23. July 4, 2012 2:29 pm

    I honestly don’t really have a good one-stop location for news–yet at least. I chose not to pay for cable when I moved off campus this year, and we all know netflix is not very concurrent. On the web I most often frequent Gizmodo or Engadget: both are great for well-sourced breaking tech-world news but not for much other worldly coverage.
    Twitter has become somewhat of a hub for me; I use it to follow CNN, WSJ, and I’m starting to try covering journalists like Craig Pittman and our guest speaker, Alex. I also frequently use wikipedia for reference if the answers i find are legit sourced.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 1:12 am

      Specialty news sites are great for not only breaking news on beats, but also for more serious depth reporting. If you’re interested in keeping up in your academic field, you need to figure this one out. Good for you for finding Gizmodo and Engadget. And once you find out who the best reporters are, yes, follow them on Twitter. Eventually, everyone grows up and stops using Twitter the way he or she used MySpace or LiveJournal. Social media for college students doesn’t need to be all about middle-school attitudes and behavior. Attaining news literacy requires maturation to a level of civil and intellectual discourse that transcends childish, sexist and racist language and ideas that many social media users perpetuate. Anyone can choose to be part of the problem or part of the solution. As for wikipedia, it’s an excellent place to begin research and a huge mistake to cite. Smart to check it for its references!

      • July 5, 2012 1:44 pm

        I haven’t even thought to follow my favorite reporters on Giz! thank you for your reply, see you in class in an hour.

  24. Hayley Pottruck permalink
    July 4, 2012 3:02 pm

    I frequently use the evening news for a lot of my information. This is reliable because it is being reported by journalists who could lose their jobs because if its not right they could get in alot of trouble. Also, i am not proud of it, but i definatly use twitter and facebook a lot for different information. I think they could be reliable sources because most people wouldnt lie on facebook and or twitter because many people would see it, and if people eventually found out the truth they would all know that they lied. Many people use facebook and twitter as sources that they check not once but multiple times a day.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 1:16 am

      By and large, yes, most MSM journalists try to toe the line. Credibility is all that reporters have. Once they lose that, why would any self-respecting news consumer pay them any heed? The complicating question is: What line are they toeing? In most cases, it’s the maintenance of the status quo of institutions in their hegemonic roles as part of capitalistic societies. Hence, news media outlets tend to be conservative.

  25. Erik Hurd permalink
    July 4, 2012 3:02 pm

    My daily source for news revolves around my schedule. I begin my day by watching NBC2 morning news and the Today show. I watch this channel not only to get the latest local/national news, but I enjoy the different entertainment segments. When I get into my vehicle, I tune my radio into Daybreak with Drew Steele (FM 92.5.) This morning show used to be with Trey Radel who is now running for congress. I do not typically tune into the evening news, due to conflicts in the prime time lineup. I find NBC’s Today Show to be very liberal when they discuss politics. On the other end of the spectrum Fox News (92.5) is very conservative. I believe both outlets lean in opposite directions so I usually take both accounts into consideration and meet in the middle.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 1:18 am

      Wise compromise, Erik! It’s important to understand that bias exists, to identify it, and then to deal with it accordingly.

  26. Nurjahan Khatun permalink
    July 4, 2012 3:54 pm

    The only TV channel I was allowed to watch as a kid was PBS. So, as I grew and became aware, I got hooked onto watching anything on PBS from the Lion King show to the Bill Moyers’ Journals to Charlie Rose and the BBC world news. I find the BBC world news most interesting and most trusted source of information because it focuses on almost every part of the world and the news seems much more accurate than other news media. I also like the fact how they present the news, it seems more serious and formal.
    These days, I also enjoy listening to NPR and watch CBS, NBC, but still my favorite news media is PBS. I like to know what’s going on in the world and as well as what’s happening in our society.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 1:20 am

      A nice thing about PBS is that it relies on the intellect of its journalists and the intelligence of its audience (which is why it’s as small as it is). Note that PBS news hosts and reporters tend not to be the blonde or exotic flavor of the month that scores so well with low-end TV watchers.

  27. Alex Smythe permalink
    July 4, 2012 4:23 pm

    The main place I go to get my sources is Wikipedia. Just kidding, however Wikipedia does sometimes use citations and those citations can lead to real legitimate websites. Though it is 99% of the time not useful. There are not many websites that will have all facts, with no bias to it, so it is quite difficult to say “where I get my sources from”. A interesting website is http://www.Snopes.com, which is a website geared to rumors and whether they are real or not. They have a team that investigates a common rumor and states whether or not it is plausible or not. Sometimes they cannot come up with an answer, but that is when someone’s “BS” meter should step in and decide for themselves. I guess there is no way to say that FOX, NBC, CBS, ABC, CNN or any of the major networks are better than one another, because they are geared to what the consumer/viewer is wanting to hear. If the consumer/viewer is very conservative, that viewer will not watch a station that is very liberal. That is why I like to watch YouTube videos in order to find the truth myself. Whether that be a reporter in the heart of the story or just someone giving their 2 cents. There is a famous YouTuber by the name of “sxephil”, who does humorous news similar to John Stewart and Stephen Colbert. Phil actually has a broader audience than O’Reilly and some big shots on major networks. He tells it like it is with no “BS.” It makes it entertaining yet informative. He also gives the links to all the information he talks about so you can read up on it further and they come from accredited websites.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 1:23 am

      Snopes, like Wikipedia, cites references. Makes one wonder why MSM and other larger news sites don’t. One of the great equalizers, thanks to the Internet: Anyone can be Philip DeFranco. or the next Stewart or Colbert.

  28. Arielle Hyppolite permalink
    July 4, 2012 4:29 pm

    My source of news I have to say would have to be the Today Show, I find that they are very good at presenting their latest information. It is always quick and to the point which is extremely efficient because unlike other news that tell you they will discuss a certain topic after a commercial and it turns out to be after 20 commercials that they finally cover their desired topic. the Today Show fits perfectly with my daily routine as I am a busy girl and don’t really have time to sit and wait for an important topic to come up. I also enjoy listening to Wolf Blitzer on CNN in the afternoon, he is a very smart man and seems to know what he is talking about so I trust him with the latest news and updates.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 1:25 am

      Despite the recent disturbance over declining ratings and the firing of Ann Curry, Today is thriving and still attracting large audiences in the morning for just the reasons you cite. The Wolf has lasted because he established credibility decades ago.

  29. Sabrina Prefer permalink
    July 4, 2012 4:31 pm

    The top two places I go to get reliable, actionable news from are “The Daily Show” with Jon Stewart and “The Colbert Report” with Stephen Colbert. They are a great source of both entertainment and news. They both present news in such a way that is very amusing to watch, yet still extremely informative and I have been watching them both for years. It is much easier for me to be motivated to keep up with what is going on in the world by doing so in a way that is very entertaining. I also enjoy Real Time With Bill Maher on HBO for the same reasons that I enjoy The Daily Show and The Colbert Report. Another source that I trust to get my news from is The Onion online because I like the way in which their website is set up and how they present their news.

    • Sabrina Prefer permalink
      July 4, 2012 6:02 pm

      I meant to write “Another source that I trust to get my news from is The Los Angeles Times online because I like the way in which their website is set up and how they present their news.” and say that The Onion was a great parody news site**

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 1:30 am

      Shows and hosts like Maher and Kimmel represent a kind of “new news” that emerged in the early Nineties. Lots of people began eschewing MSM sources and getting their information from, as media critic Jon Katz noted 20 years ago, from “rap, rock and the movies.” Oliver Stone’s loose perspectives on history are included in the mix. As for The Onion, some of its sharpest parodies and pranks seem to get the most circulation, such as the story a year ago about a fictitious (of course) Planned Parenthood “Abortionplex.” Facebook fools seemed ready to kill over that one.

  30. July 4, 2012 5:03 pm

    Lately, my strategy to search for the truth in news is to use the internet and technology, such as a computer program to form aggregates of news sources with categories. I can choose which of the major participating news sources to include or not to include depending on my opinion of their quality. I can use them all to cross-check or confirm, to reduce the probability of reading bad news.

    For trusted news sources I look for objectivity and substance. I do not expect perfection, and some of my trusted sources print political opinions in direct opposition of what I believe. But if their headlines and titles are not blatantly skewed, I include them in my pool.

    Of the many sources there is Bloomberg, Reuters, PBS, and the BBC, the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, just to name a few. I can click on any subject and scroll through hundreds or thousands of sources, all writing on that one story.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 1:32 am

      Great that you’re looking around and reading carefully for objectivity and substance. Even better that you’re trying to figure out how to tune out much of the cacophony amid the info overload.

  31. Jesus Triana permalink
    July 4, 2012 5:44 pm

    Usually to stay on top of news I use reddit.com/r/worldnews. It’s a “subreddit” (a specialized community within the larger Reddit community), on the popular website Reddit. The content is sometimes biased, headlines are editorialized, and people generally put up things that are disingenuous to the reader.

    Then why would I use a source like that? Because there are just as many intelligent comments in response to the garbage posts, calling them out and “downvoting” them (in essence, pushing them off the list due to being unpopular) and giving cited reasons why the post is biased/wrong/etc. Since this class is about news literacy, and knowing how to obtain reliable sources, it is very relevant, as this is a skill I’ve developed after years of being on Reddit. Knowing what sources are accurate, and what sources obviously have some kind of bias to them is essential for sifting through the news articles.

    Besides Reddit, I use google news because it is a non-biased aggregate of news, and I have customized it to my own needs using my google account. I tend to ignore sports and entertainment news, and have international news at the top of my list because that is what I am most interested in. Al Jazeera and BBC are some of my favorite news sources, because in my opinion they often hold little to no bias, and are usually written as straight reporting, no interjection of opinions.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 8:44 am

      Wonderful lesson for us all, Jesus. Thanks for explaining how you approach a subreddit. It’s so essential to be able to identify bias and then to apply some critical thinking on your own to figure out whom to trust.

  32. michael houfek permalink
    July 4, 2012 6:08 pm

    My most favorite and what i think is a reliable news source is ABC news. They cover local, and world news. Sometimes they cover sensless stories, but when there is breaking news, they are always one of the first to have the story. Also, ABC news covers every single important story when it happens, and really cares about imforming the public.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 1:35 am

      I watch ABC network news every other weekend, when I visit my cat, who’s a big David Muir fan. Like most news shows, it does try to cram a lot into 22 minutes. I find myself using it mostly as an index to stories I want to learn more about, and for that I have to go to reputable online news sources — sometimes abcnews.com itself.

  33. Layss Cordova permalink
    July 4, 2012 6:09 pm

    I stopped watching cable television about the time when I got netflix, 3 years ago, when I realized that I could watch the things that I enjoyed, without sitting through tons of advertising. With that being said, I turned to a new source of news, the internet. That might be a bit broad, but if there is one thing that I can say I love about finding news on the internet, it’s having the freedom to not take my news from one source, but from multiple sources, and from that establishing my own opinion on what is true, what is bias and what is just garbage.

    There are certain websites that I frequent more than others. Google news, for example, I find gives a variety of news sources to browse and I find that to be helpful in looking for multiple sources. Another website that I tend to browse is Reddit, although this is a user generated website, a lot of the information posted has reputable roots from websites like aljazeera and bbc, and being able to read the commentary on the articles, sometimes from users with legitimate knowledge on the different subjects makes it a different experience than solely taking the news thats been reported.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 8:51 am

      If you’re avoiding advertising — the primary function of which is to stimulate conspicuous consumption, to compel us to buy goods and services we don’t need or didn’t “know” we even needed — then you already know a thing or two about the broader concept of media literacy. (Again, why are Florida students required to learn how to pass FCAT writing, which will never serve them, but aren’t required to learn how to bypass credit-card vendors? It’s simple. Follow the money.) Google news is a powerful aggregator, meaning it doesn’t produce much worthwhile original content of its own, but it does pull it all together in one place. I search it when I’m frustrated by my inability to find particular stories; most news websites haven’t yet figured out or embraced the simplest concepts of design and user navigation. Google is definitely much more in tune with what the general news seeker is seeking.

  34. Gregory Gold permalink
    July 4, 2012 6:13 pm

    I usually rely on television broadcasts or online news articles and videos to gather information from. I am also a fan of comedy central. They have shows like “The Colbert Report” and “The Daily Show” that give reliable information in a humorous way.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 1:37 am

      And studies show that viewers of those two CC shows tend to be better-informed about the news and the world around them. One study warned that viewers of those shows also tended to be more cynical about politics, but why shouldn’t we be?

  35. Garrett Fopiano permalink
    July 4, 2012 6:16 pm

    Personally I was never really into watching the news or looking up any current events going on in the world. With certain news organizations telling the news through the eyes of different political sides it all just completely disinterests me. Sports news by ESPN is about the only news source I trust these days. When skimming through the channels on TV there are times where “The Daily Show” will catch my attention because of the humor added to it. Not only that, but it seems to be against taking sides and just tells it as it is while managing to make fun of the situation in any way it can.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 1:39 am

      The Daily Show is usually sharper on the point than many MSM news shows. A 2004 Rolling Stone cover feature about Stewart provided insights into how hard (and smart) his crew worked, and one can assume that they’ve only gotten better as the show’s rep and audience have grown.

  36. July 4, 2012 6:18 pm

    My main source of information is Reddit.com. It’s not really a primary source. It’s more of a forum, or gathering place, for people to come together and share links they find. I find it incredibly reliable because if anyone posts any non-sense, someone is quick to reply with why it’s wrong. In a more traditional way, NPR is another of my favorite ways to consume news media.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 9:02 am

      We’ve seen several references on this blog to Reddit, and again, I advise all of you to check it out. Maybe it’s not for you, but I’ve seen it transform individuals’ news consumption habits — and more. Reddit follows what many of us thought the Internet would become: a self-righting mechanism, a democratizing approach to the marketplace of ideas, where “truth will out.”

  37. Cassie Unterbrink permalink
    July 4, 2012 6:19 pm

    The only show I go to for my news is The Colbert Report. Its funny but at the same time gives you the facts you ned to know about current events in politics and the world. Any other sources of news that I get are from applications on facebook or my phone that keep me posted on headline news in categpories that I can select. These are nice because of the convenience of use. I constantly have access to up to date media.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 9:04 am

      Cassie’s comment raises, optimistically, a collateral issue for news literacy: How are our lives made better (or worse) by the constant access to information and news? I, too, rely on a mobile device, especially when I’m rushed or in a pinch, and I’m grateful. It’s a challenge, sometimes, not to become … too grateful — to give in to an addiction to the connection to news.

  38. schuyler houfek permalink
    July 4, 2012 6:19 pm

    When I watch the news I usually watch NBC’s Channel 5News. Its the news that I grew up on back in west palm. and their a very trusted and reliable news source been on the air for many years covering many stories. along with accurate hurricane updates. now days i usually watch abc, beacuse of its world news and maybe a little NPR once in a while.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 1:42 am

      That’s a pretty robust and respected news channel, with a good mix of veterans and smart young people. I’ve even seen Roxanne Stein’s work in my hometown, Pittsburgh.

  39. mccallr80 permalink
    July 4, 2012 6:24 pm

    I didn’t want to sound like everyone else leaving a comment, but I find “The Daily Show” and the “Colbert Report” to be a great way for people from our generation to get their news. The comedy can set it off a little, but Jon Stewert and Stephen Colbert still find ways to get their point across to the viewers. The two of them don’t settle for the simple story behind something, they always seem to really investigate what is actually going on behind any story. The corresponders in “The Daily Show” do a great job with their stories even though most of the time it seems as though they are cracking jokes left and right. Another source I trust is ESPN for all my sports news. It may not appear as news to some people, however I am fascinated by sports and my television is always turned onto ESPN or ESPNews.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 9:08 am

      Many times — and this is one of them — there’s a reason why certain news sources are more popular. Stewart and Colbert, as anyone who has spent a minute examining this nows, are incredibly bright and incredibly funny. Yes, they have great writers, but think about what they do, how often they do it, and how well. So, is there anything wrong with being entertaining while being informational? Does it shade the credibility of the news they’re delivering? Where would any of us draw the line? How far is too far when it comes to comedy and the news? Humor, as they say, can be a funny thing …

  40. Ashley Gomes permalink
    July 4, 2012 6:40 pm

    I usually rely on the daily newspaper and online sources for my news. Radio & TV aren’t always accurate. I can definitely trust what’s in print because I know they take their time to publish it and revise any mistakes that could be made. I used to read the St. Petersburg newspaper and check their website constantly because I lived around the area, but since I’ve moved to Fort Myers I recently check the News Press to see what’s going on around town. I don’t trust any news I hear on T.V just because most of them are extremely biases and every news source has a nasty tendency to ridicule government based on what they believe.

    • rkenney permalink
      July 5, 2012 1:45 am

      Full disclosure: I worked for many years for the St. Petersburg Times, and its owner, the Poynter Institute, has helped me immeasurably for two decades. I’m still affiliated, as one of its ethics fellows. That being said, more detached critics than I have consistently ranked it as a top-10 American newspaper for more than 30 years. The News-Press is owned by the same folks who own USA Today — a notoriously cheap company that still manages to produce quality journalism. High respect for its editors and reporters.

  41. Briana Smith permalink
    July 5, 2012 10:44 am

    I find news very interesting but for some reason I just never get around to watching it! It’s always changing and I feel that sometimes televised news stations can be wrong about their news, but whenever I open up safari on my computer I love looking and reading all the stories on AOL news! Sometimes they even have follow up stories and I just think that their sources are good and the follow up stories make me trust them more.

  42. Brett Winzenread permalink
    August 27, 2012 2:19 pm

    For my news I watch the local news, The Daily Show, and The Colbert Report. If i want a quick answer to a story i will go on Yahoo. I use Yahoo because it is convient and reliable. i watch the local news for the weather and local stories. I watch The Daily Show and The Colbert Report because they are a reliable source of news and at the same time they are very entertaining.

Leave a Reply

