Skip to content

MUST READ: English speaking journalists arrested in Egypt

January 31, 2011

It’s hard enough being a journalist and now the government in Egypt throws them in jail for doing their job.

Would you want to go to a foreign country and be a reporter?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2011 9:16 am

    Also note: The Egyptian government has closed down Al Jazeera’s Cairo bureau.

  2. Jaime Jones permalink
    January 31, 2011 12:33 pm

    I would definitely be a reporter for another country. Not only would I learn a lot, I would be given the opportunity to be involved in situations that I normally would not find myself in. Although there is a higher risk factor, it seems almost worth it in the end. If you immerse yourself in a different culture, chances are when something big happens you will be the first journalist they go to, since you are there in the situation not just an onlooker.

  3. Tiffany Massey permalink
    February 3, 2011 8:26 am

    I don’t know if it’s my computer or not, but it seems like the English site is down.

    • February 3, 2011 9:07 am

      Not a big surprise. See my comment about the Cairo bureau above. (Reference the news of the media crackdown that’s been happening there.) You should be able to find coverage of this incident via CNN, BBC.

  4. February 6, 2011 9:28 pm

    *I was able to view the English webpage but it only stayed up for a few minutes after every reload*

    After hearing about the situation in Egypt and how the military backed up the government when it came to assuming control over the media I was deeply concerned for the journalist’s and news reporters over there covering the situation. If they are being perceived as a threat by such a force as the government of Egypt then we have to assume that they are in danger and need to leave the country immediately. If I was a journalist who traveled to other countries during periods of conflict I must acknowledge the dangers I face. Personally I would love to do that. I’d be in the middle of serious action, visit places around the world I’d never see otherwise and be a man of resources. All in all, I wish the best for all the reporters found in the mddle of this conflict and hope they all can get home safe.

  5. Sarah Brow permalink
    September 1, 2011 11:20 am

    I would report for another country, knowing the risk is all part of the job as a journalist. I believe one of the main reasons people become reporters is because they enjoy being challenged and excited on a daily basis. Being thrown into jail for telling a story is a scary thought, but going into the field of journalism one must know it is a risk that they need to be willing to take.

Leave a Reply

